Finally! After a 3 month wait my Bridgestone RE71-R tyres have arrived. While they have been available to the US market for over a year they have just been released here in Australia. I got on a preorder so I’m actually one of the first few people to run them here. 

From internet talk and results in spec classes these tyres appear to be 1.5-2 seconds quicker than their 200TW competition tyres like AD08R and RS3/4 so they should definitely help me to get closer to my new time goals for the car. They are also a very well priced tyre and are cheaper than AD08R in the 255/40/17 sizing. If they do end up being significantly quicker than the AD08R while being cheaper then it really is a winning combo. 

Lovely fat rubber on multispoke rims is the best look. Really excited to test these tyres out in the new year. 

You may notice in the picture that my rims look really clean and fresh. That’s because while I was waiting for the tyres to arrive I had my rims stripped and powdercoated in silver brilliance by Pass Powdercoating here in Sydney. The colour is very similar to Ti silver from volk which is what I was going for. To accompany the new coating I got new volk valves and stickers so the rims are basically brand new again. 

I love the look of the flat silver in the sun. It’ll be a shame once these get dirty at their first track day haha

One last photo of everything mounted up. Basically a fresh brand new set of rims and tyres.